About Me

My photo
British and rambles about cosmetics. I love feedback - follow me and I'll be sure to follow back :) x
UK-based blog of an Avon Representative. Not designed to sell - just to share honest opinions on the products I come across. All are bought with my own pennies! X

Thursday, 7 June 2012

Mini guide to Avon foundations!

Hello all,

Following on from my post about Avon eyeliners, I thought I'd do a mini post about some of the foundations available. I couldn't get my hands on every single one (sadface - but there are too many for my purse to handle) however I have three to show you today. Just for reference with regard to shades, I wear Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation in shade 52 and all of the following are in shade 'Ivory'.

Side note - these are samples, not from foundation pumps so the swatches are MESSY - I did my best! :)

24K Gold Radiant Foundation

Pros: Fab for oily skin as dries to almost powder consistency / blendable / medium coverage / lasted 12 hrs
Cons: May be too drying for some skin types

Available in 6 shades here.

MagiX Cashmere Finish Foundation

Pros: Soft and smooth finish / light-medium coverage / cool tones (thumbs up for pale skins)
Cons: Only lasted around 6hrs

Available in 6 shades here.

Ideal Flawless Invisible Coverage Foundation

Pros: Fab coverage / suitable for dry and oily / best skin colour match / blendable / SPF 15 / lasted 12 hrs
Cons: Matte finish (not drying, but not for those who like a sheen)

Available in 16 shades here.

Personally the winner for me was Ideal Flawless, which is pretty handy really considering they have 16 shades available - really good to see a decent choice for warmer skin tones!

As always, if there's anything you fancy seeing let me know.
Thanks for reading!

Thursday, 24 May 2012

Giveaway! Avon and many other goodies..

Hello all,

Just thought I would post a little blog here to let you know of a giveaway going on at my other blog! The prize is a large selection of make-up goodies, including a few Avon items. You can find out how to enter here!

Good luck if you do enter,
lots of love

Sunday, 13 May 2012

NEW: color trend highlighter eyeshadow powder

Hello all,

Just a little post here to let you know about a new product coming up in Brochure 10. The cheaper make-up line color trend have introduced a highlighting powder, and a pretty damn good one at that.

I am always reluctant with cheaper eyeshadows as they can be powdery, with loads of fallout and, unfortunately, can sometimes react to my peepers! However I've had this highlighter (and used it every day) for about two weeks now and I'm addicted. It is a lovely matte finish so for anyone afraid of shimmer or who likes a simple finish, this could be for you. I've also used this as an lid shadow too and it's gorgeous :)

Just apply to the tearduct area or under the brow for an instant little eye lift - I've tried to demonstrate here, but the picture is a tad rubbish, hope you get the idea!

color trend highlighter eyeshadow power applied to tearduct and brow bone!
Here's how the product looks in the pot and as a swatch:

color trend highlighter eyeshadow in 'Halo'
This product is currently only available in the shade 'Halo' (I'm not sure if there are plans to expand to other shades - but will keep you updated!) and is £2.50 in Campaign 10.

Thanks for reading!

Monday, 7 May 2012

SWATCHES: ANEW Youth Awakening Lipstick and Ultra Colour Rich Mega Impact Lipstick

Hi all,

I know it can be difficult sometimes to establish the real shades of lipsticks from the small images featured in Avon brochures and online. So I got my hands on two different lippies available from Avon: ANEW Youth Awakening Lipstick and Ultra Colour Rich Mega Impact Lipstick. Here are the swatches of each:

ANEW Youth Awakening Lipstick
Top - Bottom: Silky Pink / Berry Bloom / Glazed Almond
These are a brilliant texture - creamy and easy to apply. I was especially really impressed by Berry Bloom, the pigment is so strong straight from the bullet but you can sheer it out by rubbing the product into the lip with your finger or a lip brush. The first, Silky Pink, looks pretty scary in this swatch but I've also used it myself and it is a great colour if you want a simple nude lip with a subtle shimmer. It doesn't apply as white as the swatch but adapts to your natural lip colour and leaves a light finish. There are eight shades available in this range.

Current price in Brochure 09: £6.00
Current price on Avon website: £10.50

Ultra Colour Rich Mega Impact Lipstick
Top to Bottom: Really Rosy / Fuschia Fun / Pink Pop / Divine Wine
Again, a big fan of these and I am very picky with lipsticks. Each is so pigmented and moisturising on the lips. This is just a small selection from the 8 shades available but as you can see from these swatches there is a variety of textures and finishes available. Personal favourite has to be Divine Wine - I am a sucker for deep berry shades!

Current price in Brochure 09: £5.00
Current price on Avon website: £8.50 (but part of 2 for £10 deal)

I hope this has helped provide a little insight into the true colours of some Avon lippies but if you do have an Avon rep, do ask for samples as they are only about 20p each and really helpful!

Thanks so much for reading - do leave me feedback if there's anything you'd like to see, I love receiving comments!

Wednesday, 2 May 2012

NEW shades from Nailwear Pro+ Nail Enamel

Hello all,

Just a tiddly post here to show off two of my new favourite shades from the Nailwear Pro+ Nail Enamel range. These two are now available online and in Campaign 09 for a fab £2.50. Bargain.

Left - "Pastel Pink" // Right "Coral Reef"

I have to admit the coral is definitely my favourite, but both are brilliant for making a tan pop. Plus, the shade 'Pastel Pink' is quite a close dupe to nails inc.'s 'Oxford Circus'.

Ooh, and a little side note. My nails were painted by the fabulous Emily at Baglioni Spa. If you fancy a pamper, take a look at their site here! Until next time..

10 tips for boosting your Avon sales

Hello all!

I was asked to write a blog post regarding this subject which I'm pretty certain that all Avon representatives struggle with at some point - getting decent sales. I have worked for Avon on and off for about two years so I've been able to establish some little tips, but by no means am I an expert - there are campaigns that I struggle with and unfortunately that's part and parcel of the job. Here are just a few tips that have worked for me:

  1. Offer some shiny incentives - There are plenty of ways of doing this. I've heard of reps creating their own raffles of Avon products and offering tickets for a few pennies a pop to their customers. You really can be as creative as you like - but do acknowledge how it may impact your earnings. I have used incentives such as "spend £30 and receive 10% off" - but, of course, while this can get you larger orders it also requires you to ditch anywhere from £3+ off of your earnings with the discount you offer. At the moment I offer a free (usually something under £2) product to customers if they spend a certain amount.

  2. Be a friendly face - If you have the opportunity to chat, do so! Acknowledge what your customers order and don't just enter the order numbers mindlessly - you can get a real feel for what people may enjoy and let them know about upcoming products. Try and be approachable and willing to find the best deals for your customers.. of course as an Avon rep you do want to make money, but it's lovely to get to know new people too.

  3. Throw your peepers over your Hello Tomorrow brochure - This is often the most important bit of kit for me. It's gives you the option to buy demo products that will soon appear in the Avon brochures and give them a go for yourself. Plus you can grab samples, stationary and discounted products. I frequently buy the demo products (especially perfumes and jewellery) and wear them out and about - it is a little bit of self-promotion but you get something new, and are able to introduce new products to the masses! ;) You can also get to know Avon products a little easier through samples so you can provide more information for your customers. There are also tips and tricks for making money featured in here too, so worth a look.

  4. Use the eBrochures / Facebook ads - Helpful little widgets you can share on Facebook - either share adverts for the current brochure with your contact details or offer the brochure to browse through online. You can find these on your Avon homepage when you log in.

  5. Opt in for customer leads - This option allows customers in your area looking for a rep to contact you via Avon Connects. To opt in, just pop to 'My Account' > 'My Profile' > 'Preferences'. There is a bit of a pain in the bum for this one though, you must:

    •  Be registered on the Avon website
    • Have been with Avon for more than 4 campaigns
    • Have no outstanding balance
    • A minimum of 2 orders in the last 3 campaigns
    • Have award sales of at least £156 in last 3 campaigns
    If you can do this - go for it, it opens your up to many more opportunities to earn.

  6. Find workplaces that may fancy a read - This is a huge earner for so many Avon reps. If you have family, friends, neighbours, etc who don't have an Avon rep at their work offer them a few books and order forms to pop into a communal area. Because you are a rep who is known to an employee at the organisation, it's a little more personal than dropping books through doors. Plus, you can deliver all in one which is always a bonus!

  7. Persevere (even when it's raining ;)) - I understand the temptation to skip that address on your route that has never placed an order even though you've dropped off a squillion books, but (unless they tell you they aren't interested) keep going for it. If you imagine yourself as a customer, it might be unlikely you'll place an order every campaign but there may be one book that tickles your fancy with a fab product. Your customers are in the driving seat with this one so it's worth giving them the option by offering a book consistently. Also, becoming a familiar face to those on your route makes a big difference.

  8. Rave about products you really do quite like - Admittedly it's unlikely you will have tried every single Avon product, or if we're brutal, liked every Avon product you've used.. but if you do find one stella find - let people know! There are products that I use every day and love and really do want other people to love too.

  9. Hold an Avon party - You can use this as an excuse to have some cake and see friends but it could be really helpful for boosting your sales too. If you plan well in advance, try and gather products that you know sell well and you want to introduce to more people or some shiny new products which you can take along so people can see before they buy. If you're handy with a mascara or nail varnish, you could offer a few beauty treatments with the products too!

  10. At Christmas offer books to EVERYONE - I know it's encouraging the money-spending frenzy that is Noel, but really do try and spread that Avon joy where you can. There are some pretty good deals around Christmas time and everyone is after a bargain. Just make sure you're aware of your delivery dates around that time so potential presents can arrive before the big day.
Hope this post has been slightly helpful.. let me know if you have any tips yourself!

Tuesday, 17 April 2012

MagiX Eye Radiance Brightening Wand


A very quick one today just to do a little feature on the Avon MagiX Eye Radiance Brightening Wand. I bought this a little while ago and have a few mixed feelings on it. As a concealer product, it isn't too great and provides little coverage.. however, as an under-eye brightener, this does a pretty good job. It applies almost with a souffle texture and blends brilliantly - plus the applicator is easy to use and an ideal amount of product comes out. This swatch is in the shade 'Fair' but it is also available in 'Medium'.

I've heard some fantastic things regarding the MagiX Face Perfector.. let me know if you want a review and I'll get my mitts on it!

Current price in Campaign 08/online: £8.00

Wednesday, 11 April 2012

A guide to Avon eyeliners!

Hi there,

I thought it might be helpful to do a little guide to some of the eyeliners available from Avon. I'm going to provide a little info on three of the different eyeliners available (mainly because they are my favourites), so read on if this tickles your fancy.

SuperSHOCK Gel Eyeliners

These are the mega-pigmented, creamy eyeliners that are raved about through the blogging and Youtube community. At first just available in black, Avon have taken a wise move and expanded the line to a few more colours (including a grey not featured here - my apologies!).

L-R : Golden Fawn - Blackberry - Black

Current Avon website price: £7.00
Campaign 08 price: £6.00

Glimmerstick Eyeliners

I am constantly receiving orders for these eyeliners! Instead of pencils you can sharpen, this eyeliner is a swivel design that, as you turn, the product extends at the top. As you can see, they are fairly thin so you can use them sparingly or build up a thicker line. If you are new to make-up, I think these are a great alternative to SuperSHOCK eyeliners as the pigment isn't too much to work with. Available in regular or Glimmerstick diamonds which, as you can guess, is the glitter version!

Top - Glimmerstick Diamonds in Emerald Glow // Bottom - Glimmerstick in Majestic Plum
Current price on Avon website/Campaign 08: £6.00

color trend pencil play eyeliner

color trend is the more affordable make-up line from Avon. I love their pencil play eyeliners, specifically the white as it is SO pigmented and lasts brilliantly. A definite bargain and make-up staple.

color trend pencil play in White

Current price on Avon website: £2.95

Thanks for reading. Let me know if you're a fan of these eyeliners.

Avon Shine Attract Lipstick


I've already featured this lippies over on my joint blog Sugar Plump Beauty but since then I've fallen in love with them even more - so it's a must that I write about them here.

Shine Attract Lipsticks are quite a new and interesting design. Instead of a basic bullet with pure pigment like a traditional lipstick, these have a shot of pigment through the centre surrounded by a moisturising gel. A bit faffy, and I was sceptical, but I think these a fantastic. Easy to use and you choose the amount of colour you want to apply depending on how heavy you are. I often find some lipsticks (yes, MAC matte, I'm looking at you) fairly drying so these are a refreshing choice that really do make my lips better on the eyes.

From L-R : Orchid - Rose Bouquet (front) - Cherry Pie
From top-bottom : Orchid - Cherry Pie - Rose Bouquet
LEFT - from bullet // RIGHT - after blending
These are currently £8.50 on the Avon website and in Campaign 08.

Thanks for reading, let me know what you think!

Secret Fantasy Star EDT & Far Away Exotic EDP

Hello all,

I thought my first post should be something different as opposed to basic make-up.. so here are two of my favourite Avon perfumes.

Secret Fantasy Star Eau de Toilette 50ml

A lovely EDT that's incredibly easy to wear as it isn't overpowering but has great lasting power. The scent is sweet and citrus-based so perfect for summer! The bottle doesn't have a lid but a metal clasp with a star charm that will stop any spillages in your bag. For a little more information on the notes in this perfume and other perfumes it's similar to - have a look at this fab website.

Current price on Avon website/campaign 08: £11.00

Far Away Exotic Eau de Parfum 50ml

On the complete opposite end of the perfume spectrum to Secret Fantasy, this new perfume is a fairly spicy and exotic scent with hints of mango and coconut. Personally I'd recommend this one for an evening out rather than during the day. It has, with many Avon perfumes, great lasting power too. For more in depth info, clicky here!

Current price on Avon website: £8.00
Price in Campaign 08: £6.50

Thanks so much for reading. Let me know what your favourite fragrances are!

Thursday, 22 March 2012



Just a quick post to introduce what this blog is all about. I'm an Avon Representative (and customer!) and I understand how sometimes it can be difficult to get a real feel for products before buying without seeing them in the flesh. I've decided to try to do the next best thing, and blog about the goodies I can get my hands on so you're able to judge for yourselves a little better. Along with this, I will offer my personal opinions - which will include criticism! Don't hesitate to request anything you'd like a closer look at.

I currently write with a joint blog over at Sugar Plump Beauty (which already has a few Avon posts that I'll pop over here too) which is for opinions on a whole variety of cosmetics and fashion on the market.. so feel free to have a snoop there too.

Until next time!